The laws surrounding drunk driving, also known as driving while intoxicated, are strict. Texas drivers with a blood alcohol level of 0.08 percent for adult drivers over 21 or 0.04 percent for commercial drivers are considered driving impaired. Drivers under the legal drinking age may also be charged with DWI if any detectable alcohol is found in their systems.
Recently, a Texas police chief was out on a drive when he allegedly observed the driver in front of his vehicle drifting in-between lanes. The police chief pulled the man over, and the investigation was turned over to a different officer. The 43-year-old Texas man was charged with DWI after the officer administered a field sobriety test. The driver apparently had a previous conviction as well.
Blood alcohol content level is the main factor for determining whether a driver is drunk. In Texas, if a driver refuses to submit to a blood alcohol test, his or her driving license may be suspended. However, in some cases, the court may find that the driver had been subjected to irregular methods of field sobriety testing, yielding untrustworthy results.
Texas law does not tolerate any instance of DWI. A driver arrested for alleged DWI behavior may face severe penalties. Depending on age, previous convictions or other circumstances, DWI penalties may include heavy fines, revocation or suspension of license, imprisonment or community service. Car insurance of the driver convicted for DWI will also be adversely affected. Additionally, the driver may face loss of reputation in his or her community, and this charge or conviction might reflect adversely on employability. Professional legal help from a Houston DWI defense attorney might be the first course of action considered after arrest.
Source: PoliceOne.com, "Texas police chief assists in drunk driving arrest", June 9, 2014