There are a number of crimes out there that are deemed particularly cruel in nature. In Texas, kidnapping is one of them. Those accused of violent crimes such as this may face a number of significant penalties if they are ultimately convicted.
How does the state define kidnapping? In short, it is purposefully abducting another individual. It could be a child or an adult. Does not matter.
What is aggravated kidnapping? Not all kidnapping cases are created equal. A person accused of kidnapping may face higher charges if the kidnapping was done:
- To seek a ransom
- To take the victim as a hostage
- To physically harm the victim
- To terrorize family members of the victim, as well as the victim
- With the use of a deadly weapon
What are the penalties for kidnapping? It all depends on the details of one's case, but generally speaking, kidnapping is a third-degree felony. If convicted, one may spend two to 10 years in prison and/or have to pay a $10,000 fine. An aggravated kidnapping is a first-degree felony, punishable up to 99 years in prison and/or a fine.
When charged with kidnapping, or other violent crimes, one may feel that there is little hope to achieving a positive outcome. However, there are various defense strategies that can help Texas residents fight their cases, or at least seek to have charges and consequences reduced. An experienced attorney can review the finer details of one's case and provide information about all the possible defense options that may work to help the client achieve the best outcome possible.
Source: FindLaw, "Texas Kidnapping Laws", Accessed on Nov. 1, 2017