Texas police charged two bartenders for a crash in which they were not physically involved. According to authorities, the bartenders over-served a patron who went on to cause a drunk driving accident in which one person was killed. Both could face up to a year behind bars and a $500 fine.
Going out and enjoying a drink on the weekend is second nature to many in Texas. However, safe driving habits -- such as always having a designated driver -- are not always as common. While drunk driving continues to be a serious legal problem for many individuals, some are crediting ride-sharing apps with reducing the number of intoxicated drivers behind the wheel.
A Texas woman was recently accused of stealing from at least two houses that she had been hired to clean. Facing multiple theft charges, she posted a $1,500 bond after her first arrest, but is still currently in police custody after being arrested again. A judge has yet to set her second bond.
You likely don't make a habit of seeking out situations that place you at risk for arrest. That doesn't necessarily mean, however, that police will never take you into custody as long as you live. Any number of situations can arise that can land you in trouble with the law. If it happens, it is critical that you pay close attention to everything the officer says or does.
Research into intoxicated drivers and resulting awareness campaigns are credited with helping reduce the number of related arrests over a 30-year period. However, people are still just that -- people. Texas residents are not immune from making mistakes, and when they are arrested for drunk driving offenses they have a right to thorough and vigorous representation.